The Lion King in 3D

Hime-chan and I, being the children that we are, went to go see The Lion King in 3D in theaters Thursday, September 29th.  We both saw it the first time it was in theaters in ’95, and heaven be damned if we weren’t going to see it the second time.  Thankfully they edited out the Morning report song that they had taken from the Broadway play and had put into the DVD version of the movie that came out a few years ago.  It was a late night show so there weren’t many people there, but that didn’t hinder our excitement.  You would have thought we were going to a Vamps concert the way we where fangirling.

Unfortunately, because the movie was originally made to be 2 dimensional, there wasn’t much that really popped out of the screen while in 3D.  Although when Zazu was flying in at the start of the movie I did reach out and try to grab his tail feathers.  Oh, and Scar leaping towards Simba with the fire behind him towards the end of the movie.  That was amazing.  I wish I could have screen shot that moment to save forever.  Sadly, real life doesn’t work like a computer so that won’t work, but I think I might pull up that image from the DVD and put it as my background on my desktop…that’s a possibility.  ^_^

Also, just the other day, I made sure to pick up my copy to The Lion King Diamond edition at Toys R Us (where I got a free holographic poster!).  Sure, I have the VHS, and yes I bought the DVD a few years ago, but hello, Diamond edition.  Also, the deleted scenes are hilarious!  My favorite being “Scar’s Madness” when he hit’s on Nala and sings the reprise to Be Prepared.  Which, is also in the Broadway play apparently.  I really need to go see the Broadway play.

-Lathya

About lathya

I'm a huge Otaku! I love anime, but I prefer manga to anime. However I have a *need* to own all the manga I read, but with anime I don't mind watching it online. I buy box sets of my favorites. So, needless to say, I'm almost always bordering on broke to feed my obsession. I've been into cosplay for a while, but am full embracing my long time growing Steampunk obsession. I love reading fantasy stories, my favorite authors are Brom and Oscar Wilde. I do a lot of my own writing as well. Mostly short stories and poems, but I have a few ideas in the works for a couple of novels. I just need to get my ass in gear and write them, not just outlines of them.
This entry was posted in video. Bookmark the permalink.

Reply- You know you want to...

