I Love This Show: Himawari

Himawari is such a fun/cute anime that I found on Anime On Demand.  You follow the main character, Himawari, as she joins a ninja school and tries to keep up with the already well advanced class.  Also, it doesn’t help that she’s a major klutz and has received most of her ninja training thus far from “Ichikawa Denzou’s ‘The Shinobis'”, a t.v. series.

The plot is very simple for this series.  Each episode is just it’s own little thing, and it doesn’t get to serious.  There are a few crazy characters as well.  There is Yusura who can talk to animals, and has a very strange…dog? (named Momota) with a large butt who farts a lot.  Himeji, the trigger happy weapons expert.  Tsukiyohime who is always found having meals in strange places and showing people visions in her miso soup.  Also, Azami, the collector of useless information and the only guy at the all-girls ninja school.  He masquerades as a girl so he can collect information on the girls school.


My favorite character though is the smartest of the group, Shikimi.  She’s particularly intelligent when it comes to poisons and the like.  And then there is that episode where she falls in love, even though it’s supposed to be an automatic expulsion for a ninja if she falls in love with anyone!  The episode is cute and kind of sad.  I think that’s my favorite episode!


And then of course there is Hayto Marikoji.  He’s a new teacher that starts up the same day Himawari does.  He’s not a ninja, and actually he thinks he is there by mistake when he first shows up.  It’s his job to teach the ninja about life outside of their school so they can emerge themselves into no problem.  Which as they are now, they should start paying real close attention to his lessons, because for ninja they stand out a lot.  Especially Himeji.  She’s a loon.


Of course Himawari should be careful that she doesn’t get expelled.  As the series goes on she becomes closer and closer with Hayto.  Although he doesn’t seem to know why, he has the same very unique birthmark as a ninja who saved Himawari’s life as a child, and when he saves her life on the first day of school she swears to protect him with her life, and begins to call him master.  Kinky.


Now I want to join a ninja school.  Maybe after all these years of watching Naruto I’ll become an awesome ninja!  I’ll go use my newly discovered, amazing ninja skills to find a ninja school that will help me become the best like no one ever was.

Ja mata
Lathya

About lathya

I'm a huge Otaku! I love anime, but I prefer manga to anime. However I have a *need* to own all the manga I read, but with anime I don't mind watching it online. I buy box sets of my favorites. So, needless to say, I'm almost always bordering on broke to feed my obsession. I've been into cosplay for a while, but am full embracing my long time growing Steampunk obsession. I love reading fantasy stories, my favorite authors are Brom and Oscar Wilde. I do a lot of my own writing as well. Mostly short stories and poems, but I have a few ideas in the works for a couple of novels. I just need to get my ass in gear and write them, not just outlines of them.
This entry was posted in anime, article, weekly segment. Bookmark the permalink.

Reply- You know you want to...

